The Church Of Uganda

The Church of Uganda is an independent province of the Anglican Communion worldwide, which subscribes to the Holy Scriptures. It is part of one holy Catholic and Apostolic Church, worshiping the one true God, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. The Church is commissioned to carry out a holistic Christ-like Mission that empowers the people to worship God on one hand, and also equip them to be a humane, prosperous, peaceful and just community.

The Church in Uganda has gone through enormous change in the last over one hundred and twenty (120) years of her establishment. Its impact on spiritual lives, the economy, education, health and social sectors cannot be compared to any other institution.

Bunyoro – Kitara Diocese

Bunyoro – Kitara Diocese (BKD) is one of the relatively old Dioceses in the Province of the Church of Uganda. The Anglican BKD  was curved out of Ruwenzori Diocese in 1972. Geographically, the Diocese lies in Mid-Western Uganda and now covers the administrative districts of Hoima, Kibaale, Kagadi and Kakumiro. It borders Lake Albert in the west, the Anglican Diocese of Ruwenzori in the South, the Anglican Diocese of Mityana in the East and the Anglican Diocese of Masindi-Kitara in the north (Masindi-Kitara Diocese was formed from Bunyoro – Kitara Diocese on 19th December 2004)

The Diocesan Headquarter is situated two (2) Kilometers west of Hoima Town Center at a place popularly known as Duhaga, which is the name of an Educational institutions around the hill, in memory of Omukama Andereya Bisereko Duhaga  of Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom  who led the Kingdom in the early Twentieth  century. Half a kilometer, west of the Diocesan Administrative Secretariat stands the magnificent St.Peter’s Cathedral which is a significant place of worship as well as the Diocesan Episcopal Seat.

The Current diocesan Bishop, Rt. Rev. Samuel Kahuma was consecrated on 04th December 2016. He was preceded by Bishop Nathan Kyamanywa (2002-2016), Bishop Wilson   Nkuna Turumanya (1989-2002), Bishop Yonasani Rwakaikara (1981-1989) and the pioneer Bishop Yustas Ruhindi (1972-1981).

The Diocese is divided into Seven (7) administrative Archdeaconries, each headed by an archdeacon plus one (1) Deanery. Under these Archdeaconries are sixty seven (67) Parishes under the pastoral leadership of parish priests. Each parish is further subdivided into smaller congregation known as “Daughter Churches” numbering over six hundred (600) in the entire Diocese with a total population of over Eight hundred thousand (800,000) Christians. These Daughter church are ministered to by lay readers, catechists and in some cases Christian volunteers.

The Diocesan bishop is the overall spiritual leader of the diocese. The structure descends to Archdeacon, Parish Priest, Lay Reader and catechist, who on Bishop’s behalf preside over Archdeaconries, Parishes, and daughter churches respectively. At the diocesan office, senior staffs coordinate the ministry departments and units. These include Planning and development, Mission and Evangelism, Youth, Education, and Mothers Union. These departments have boards which provide policy oversight.

The synod is the supreme policy body; it is convened every two years and has powers to enact, repeal, and vary regulations for the management of the diocesan affairs. A diocesan council acts as an executive committee in intervals between synod meetings. The Diocesan Secretary is mandated with executive powers and handles all the day to day activities of the secretariat while the Diocesan Treasurer oversees all the financial management issues in the diocese.

BKD has historical importance in the Province; it is endowed with spiritual, human and physical resources; it is a founding body of many great schools in the region and the majority of the people in Bunyoro are members of the church. However, BKD’S impact seems to be warning! The diocese has not been spared from the global trends and the negative impacts that have affected the whole church. It has therefore never been timelier to rethink the positioning, direction and the role of the church/Diocese